What is Hatha Yoga?

What Does Mean Hatha Yoga?

The name Hatha (the practice of physical postures) is made up of two components: "ha" meaning "sun," the positive current in the body, and "tha" meaning "moon," the negative current in the body. Hatha Yoga symbolizes the equilibrium between these two energies. The word Hatha means "discipline of force" in Sanskrit. Hatha Yoga helps to purify our solar (Pingla) and lunar (Ida) channels.

The goal of Hatha yoga is to strengthen your muscles and create a mindful connection to your body.

Within the branch of Hatha Yoga, there are many different types or styles ranging from more passive forms (e.g., Restorative Yoga) to very active forms (e.g., Ashtanga and Vinyasa or Power Yoga). Discover what is Ashtanga Yoga 

What Are The Benefits Of Hatha Yoga?

• Better sleep

• Reduce stress

• Improve balance and core strength

• Relieve neck and back pain

• Lower levels of depression

• Strengthen flexibility

• Enhance mindfulness

What To Expect In A Hatha Yoga Class?

A yoga class described as “Hatha” will typically involve a set of physical postures (yoga poses) and breathing techniques. These are typically practiced more slowly and with more static posture holds than a Vinyasa flow or Ashtanga class. Generally, a Hatha class lasts 90 minutes. The class is divided into 4 sections:

• Breathing

• Warm-up

• Asanas

• Final Relaxation / Meditation